Strature BriefsDecision BriefNo. 021Edition 1.1 (archive)1 Oct 2026
Decision Brief · Canada

Can Canada turn promised capital into built projects?

Not quickly. A fund we track taking a C$1bn-plus build stake by 31 October 2027: 43% (16% with a government term, 27% without), our estimate, scored when it resolves.

Archive edition. Researched 27 September 2026; harmonised to the current house standard 1 October 2026. Evidence to 27 September 2026; facts refreshed 1 October 2026.

Exhibit X18 · Decision Brief No. 021
A new build stake by October 2027 is less likely than not: 43%
The five futures to 31 October 2027, our estimates, scored when they resolve (F-0151 to F-0155).

Dashed line: Even odds · 50%

New build stake · 43%

  • 16% Terms and takers
  • 27% Takers without the state
  • 16% Airports open, builds wait
  • 14% Fast-track lists, capital waits
  • 27% Standstill
SourceStrature forecast register, F-0151 to F-0155, registered 28 Sep 2026.LicenceStrature's own registered estimates.How to read this plateThe accent marks the share the exhibit's title is about; the bar is the whole, 100%.DataDownload the chart data (CSV) q-021-x18.csvStrature

Free to read: the one-page sheet and the executive read

The following applies to this page and to both downloads: General research for general circulation; not investment, legal or tax advice, not tailored to any reader, and not a recommendation to buy or sell any security. Every probability is our estimate, scored when it resolves; to the fullest extent permitted by law Strature accepts no liability (otherwise capped at the fee paid or, if no fee was paid, CAD 100). Full terms in the full brief. Some assets carry sector rules on foreign ownership; we have not assessed them. This notice applies alongside the notices printed in each download.

The notice printed on the sheet

General research for general circulation; not investment, legal or tax advice, not tailored to any reader, and not a recommendation to buy or sell any security. Every probability is our estimate, scored when it resolves; to the fullest extent permitted by law Strature accepts no liability (otherwise capped at the fee paid or, if no fee was paid, CAD 100). Full terms in the full brief.

The notice printed on the executive read

This is general research on public information, published for general circulation to purchasers. It is not investment, legal, tax or accounting advice, is not tailored to any reader, and does not recommend buying, selling or holding any security or loan; options to consider are illustrations, not instructions. Every probability and forecast is our estimate, scored when it resolves, and may prove wrong; the brief is provided "as is", without warranty. To the fullest extent permitted by law Strature and its principal accept no liability of any kind; where a court will not allow that, liability is limited to the fee paid or, if no fee was paid, CAD 100, and indirect or consequential loss is excluded. Strature and its principal hold no position in, and receive no payment from, any company or fund named in this brief. […] The full brief is licensed to its purchaser and the purchaser's professional advisers, in confidence; Ontario law. Full terms in the full brief.

Quoted without one sentence, on how the brief is produced; see the terms for this brief.

Strature BriefsDecision BriefNo. 021Edition 1.1 (archive)1 Oct 2026

Archive edition. Researched 27 September 2026; harmonised to the current house standard 1 October 2026. Evidence to 27 September 2026; facts refreshed 1 October 2026.

Data. Each exhibit’s Download the chart data (CSV) link gives exactly the values drawn in that chart, with its title, source, credit, licence, retrieval date, the brief’s number and our general-research notice in the file’s first lines. It is free to use under the licence stated with it, crediting the source as printed. Deeper datasets come only with the full brief.

1 further exhibit stays in the full brief: its source licence does not allow redistribution.

Strature GPS · Questions this brief answers

21 questions answered, each on the map.

Each answer is quoted verbatim from the brief, with the section that answers it and the countries it touches. Answers with a register ID are our estimates, scored when they resolve; the others are the brief’s reading of the evidence, not forecasts.

Countries in this brief, on Strature GPS

Answered in: The answer (cover; at a glance)

Geoeconomic

Can Canada turn promised capital into built projects?

“Not quickly. A fund we track taking a C$1bn-plus build stake by 31 October 2027: 43% (16% with a government term, 27% without), our estimate, scored when it resolves.”

our estimate, scored when it resolves

On the register: F-0151 16%, open · F-0152 27%, open. The forecast register

Primary Canada Affected United Arab Emirates +1
Geoeconomic

Will the money come?

“Pledged, and mostly not yet placed: for 6 of 7 pledges we found no placement to 27 September 2026.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada Affected United Arab Emirates

Geoeconomic

Is there anything to buy?

“Little: only 9 of 50 undecided large projects suit an infrastructure fund.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Geoeconomic

What does a government term buy?

“A signal, not a guarantee: projects with a term went ahead more often, though not reliably.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Geoeconomic

What will it cost?

“Costs rose after the decision on half the projects with a cost record; that is the risk to price.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Show all 21 questions

Answered in: 01. Funds have put their Canadian money mostly into operating assets, rarely into new builds

Geoeconomic

Have the funds put their Canadian money into operating assets or new builds?

“Since September 2020 the funds we track have closed 14 counted deals in Canadian infrastructure. Of these, 12 were in operating assets or in businesses that operate and build at once”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 02. The fund rules we could read set no cap on Canadian investment

Geoeconomic

Do the fund rules cap Canadian investment?

“The three fund laws we could read, those of CPP Investments, PSP Investments and La Caisse, set no geographic floor or ceiling.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 03. Foreign managers invest here, with no sovereign closing found by September 2026

Geoeconomic

Do foreign managers and sovereign investors invest in Canadian infrastructure?

“Foreign fund managers already own and buy Canadian infrastructure, but we found no closing by a foreign sovereign investor from the pledges to 27 September 2026.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada Affected United Arab Emirates

Answered in: 04. Pledges bunched around the summit, with no anchor deal found by September 2026

Geoeconomic

Has an anchor deal followed the summit pledges?

“By an anchor deal we mean a first large transaction by the Maple Fund, which other funds might follow. For the Maple Fund, up to C$50bn from CPP Investments and Brookfield, we found no transaction by 27 September 2026.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 05. Only 9 of 50 undecided large projects suit an infrastructure fund

Geoeconomic

How many undecided large projects suit an infrastructure fund?

“Only 9 are paid for providing a network or facility service: gas pipelines, gas export terminals, a hydro expansion, a hydro-fibre link and a carbon-storage hub.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 06. The airport concessions cannot move until the government publishes their terms

Geoeconomic

Can the airport concessions move before the government publishes their terms?

“On this analysis, no binding bid can be priced until the concession, charge and tax terms are published.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 07. Projects with a government term went ahead more often, though not reliably

Geoeconomic

Do projects with a government term go ahead more often?

“Counting only terms in place when the decision was taken, projects with a published or signed government term went ahead 6 times in 15 (40%), against 12 in 58 (about 21%) without.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 08. Indigenous equity or a public agreement, without a term, brought no clear gain

Geoeconomic

Does Indigenous equity or a public agreement, without a term, bring a clear gain?

“With Indigenous equity or an agreement but no term, 5 of 18 projects went ahead (about 28%), against 7 of 40 with neither (about 18%).”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 09. Canadian mining and manufacturing returns trail US returns by 5 to 6 points

Geoeconomic

Do Canadian returns trail US returns?

“In manufacturing as a whole, used as the control, Canadian firms earned 9.0% on equity against 15.3% in the United States, a gap of 6.3 points.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada Affected United States

Answered in: 10. In our model of the Northeast Power Line, overruns outweigh government support

Geoeconomic

On the Northeast Power Line, do overruns outweigh government support?

“On this line, the overrun, and who bears it, matters more to the return than the value of any term; another regulated build needs its own figures.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 11. The Northeast Power Line, worked end to end, shows an overrun outweighing any term

Geoeconomic

What does the Northeast Power Line show when worked end to end?

“On a regulated project, the overrun and who bears it are best priced before any term is valued.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 12. Building prices are outrunning consumer prices, with no delay blamed on capacity

Geoeconomic

Are building prices outrunning consumer prices, and is capacity blamed for delays?

“Of 14 notices on 11 large projects since January 2024, 10 give no reason.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 13. Costs rose after the decision on half the projects with a cost record

Geoeconomic

Did costs rise after the decision on projects with a cost record?

“6 of them are large Canadian industrial projects with a cost record. On 3 of them, the cost rose 22% to 30% after the decision (Exhibit X17).”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 14. The two futures with a new build stake come to 43%, less likely than not

Geoeconomic

How likely is a new build stake by October 2027?

“The two futures with a new build stake by a fund we track, with or without a government term, come to 43% together, our estimate, scored when it resolves.”

our estimate, scored when it resolves

On the register: F-0151 16%, open · F-0152 27%, open. The forecast register

Primary Canada

Answered in: 15. Twenty public events to October 2027 would move the answer, and twelve are dated

Geoeconomic

Which public events to October 2027 would move the answer?

“Twelve of the twenty signposts carry a date; four fall in October 2026, beginning with the Alberta pipeline's 1 October listing target.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Answered in: 16. Five open challenge findings, equity prices and peer returns lie beyond this edition

Geoeconomic

What lies beyond this edition's evidence?

“We could not price Canadian infrastructure against US, European or listed peers with evidence we can publish.”

The brief’s reading of the evidence; not a registered forecast.

Primary Canada

Since publication

What has changed since the research, dated.

Registered forecasts are never changed: they stay as issued and are scored as registered. Facts found after the research date are listed here with their date and source.

Registered with this edition, as issued

Forecasts registered with this edition, printed as issued
No.ForecastEstimateIssuedResolvesStatus
F-0151a build with a government term16% our estimate, scored when it resolvesIssued 28 Sep 2026Resolves 31 Oct 2027Open
F-0152a build on private contracts only27% our estimate, scored when it resolvesIssued 28 Sep 2026Resolves 31 Oct 2027Open
F-0153airport terms published, no build16% our estimate, scored when it resolvesIssued 28 Sep 2026Resolves 31 Oct 2027Open
F-0154a fast-track listing only14% our estimate, scored when it resolvesIssued 28 Sep 2026Resolves 31 Oct 2027Open
F-0155a standstill27% our estimate, scored when it resolvesIssued 28 Sep 2026Resolves 31 Oct 2027Open

Facts since the research date

  1. 1 Aug 2026

    Found at the refresh, dated before the evidence date and not in the brief's text: the Major Projects Office states that on 1 August 2026 Canada gave notice in the Canada Gazette that the Governor in Council may amend Schedule 1 of the Building Canada Act to list the West Coast Oil Pipeline. The notice was read in the Canada Gazette itself at the 2 October re-check (Part I, Vol. 160, No. 31, Supplement, 1 August 2026). The brief's text names only the notice of 29 August 2026 on Roberts Bank Terminal 2 and is not changed. Both are printed; the difference is printed, not resolved. Neither notice is a listing.

    Major Projects Office, West Coast Oil Pipeline page (modified 2 Sep 2026), retrieved 1 Oct 2026; Canada Gazette, Part I, Vol. 160, No. 31, Supplement (1 Aug 2026), retrieved 2 Oct 2026

  2. 1 Oct 2026

    The first signpost, the Alberta pipeline's 1 October listing target: the Prime Minister announced in Fort McMurray, with Alberta's Premier, the government's decision to designate the West Coast oil pipeline a project of national interest under the Building Canada Act, as Global News reports it. In this brief's terms a project is designated only when an order lists it in Schedule 1 (glossary), and F-0154 counts only such an order in the Canada Gazette. Whether such an order had been made was not disclosed at the 1 October refresh; the 2 October re-check found it (below).

    Global News, 1 Oct 2026 (updated 11:19 a.m.); The Canadian Press via BNN Bloomberg, 1 Oct 2026, 7:08 a.m. EDT; both retrieved 1 Oct 2026

  3. 1 Oct 2026

    After the announcement, Schedule 1 of the Building Canada Act still listed no project in the consolidation current to 21 September 2026, and the Canada Gazette listed no Part II edition after 23 September 2026 and no Part I edition after 26 September 2026. No forecast is changed (W-35); the pre-agreed update moves weight between futures 4 and 5 only, and any such update would be a new, separately dated estimate.

    Justice Laws, Building Canada Act (S.C. 2025, c. 2, s. 4); Canada Gazette, Parts I and II, 2026 indexes; all retrieved 1 Oct 2026, 15:30 UTC

  4. 2 Oct 2026

    On 1 October 2026 the Governor in Council made the Order Amending Schedule 1 to the Building Canada Act (P.C. 2026-0925), listing the West Coast Oil Pipeline, now called Pacific Link; at 2 October it was not yet published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, or in the consolidated Act. The Prime Minister's release of 1 October and the Major Projects Office page, modified the same day, state that the pipeline has been listed under Schedule 1. At 2 October the consolidation was still current to 21 September 2026, with no project in Schedule 1, and the latest Part II edition listed was that of 23 September 2026. This order bears on registered forecast F-0154 and on the standstill future (W5); they are scored as registered once the order is published in the Canada Gazette. No forecast is changed (W-35).

    Order in Council P.C. 2026-0925, 1 Oct 2026, with its explanatory note (Orders in Council database, Privy Council Office); Prime Minister of Canada, news release, 1 Oct 2026; Major Projects Office, West Coast Oil Pipeline page (modified 1 Oct 2026); Justice Laws, Building Canada Act; Canada Gazette, Part II, 2026 index; all retrieved 2 Oct 2026, 04:05-04:07 UTC

  5. 1 Oct 2026

    No Maple Fund transaction and no published airport concession length or charges regime were found in the sources searched to 1 October 2026.

    Newswire.ca (CPP Investments and Brookfield releases) and Torys LLP, 'Canada seeks private investment in airports through long-term concession arrangements' (Sep 2026), searched and retrieved 1 Oct 2026

No new forecast is issued with these facts; a new view would be a new, separately dated forecast.

Earlier editions

Superseded, kept as released.

Edition 1.1 is the current edition; the questions, the forecasts and the full-brief request on this page are its own.

Edition 1.0 · released 28 Sep 2026 · superseded by Edition 1.1 on 2 Oct 2026

Edition 1.0 is kept as released and carries its own printed notices; it cannot be requested. The following applies to both of its downloads: General research for general circulation; not investment, legal or tax advice, not tailored to any reader, and not a recommendation to buy or sell any security. Every probability is our estimate, scored when it resolves; to the fullest extent permitted by law Strature accepts no liability (otherwise capped at the fee paid). Full terms in the full brief.

For organisations

Full brief available to organisations.

Cover of Strature Briefs, Decision Brief No. 021, Edition 1.1 (archive edition): the title, the answer sentence, and C$180bn pledged in 7 pledges, split into C$85bn on the pledgers' own figures and C$95bn announced by the government, with 1 loan found placed, size not disclosed; evidence to 27 Sep 2026, published 1 Oct 2026, resolves 31 Oct 2027.
The cover of Edition 1.1.

The full brief is free during our introductory period, for organisations only. We do not supply it to individual consumers, to foreign governments or organisations they own or control, to parties named on sanctions lists, or in the countries and regions listed below. We rely on the declarations you make below; some requests are reviewed by our Principal before a download link is sent.

Every forecast in our published briefs, resolved and open: see the forecast register.

Request the full brief

You are requesting: Strature Brief Q-021, Edition 1.1, "Can Canada turn promised capital into built projects?".

Is your organisation located in Crimea, Sevastopol, or an area of the Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia or Kherson regions not controlled by the Government of Ukraine? (answer only if you chose Ukraine)
Declarations (each one is required)

These terms (version 1.2) replace the terms printed in the brief's last pages for this copy.

We will email you only about this request: a link to confirm your address and download the brief, or a note if we cannot supply it. Strature Geopolitical Prospects & Strategy Inc., 375 University Avenue, Suite 3297, Toronto ON M5G 2J5, Canada, through the contact form. See the privacy policy.

Interests

No position, no payment, no sponsor.

Strature and its principal hold no position in, and receive no payment from, any company or fund named in this brief. No issuer, fund, government or project sponsor paid for, commissioned the content of, or reviewed this brief.

Strature's principal, Milad Naeimi, follows a written trading policy: neither he nor Strature takes a position in any company, fund or listed security named in a brief from the start of drafting until 30 days after its publication, and the no-interest statement is re-confirmed before each edition.

Errors are corrected in the next edition and listed in its change log. Corrections · The Strature Briefs library

Questions about the series

Ask about the full brief, or suggest a question.

The answer to a suggested question is published to all readers.